5 MINUTES WITH… DESORDRE

by aliceliddellblog

atg swim desordre

desordre sunglasses

desordre merchandising

desordre accessories

desordre shannon thomasShannon wears Wildfox sunglasses, Josh Goot sleeveless velvet vest, Konstantina Mittas tank, Uniform leather shorts, Elena Iachia shoes

Tucked away in a leafy corner of Surry Hills is one of Sydney’s top fashion boutiques: Désordre (“dessord”). With an impressive list of Australian and international designers, co-owners Shannon Thomas and Lucinda Connery can barely get the stock in the store before it flies off the shelves. I have been an avid fan of the store since first hearing the name almost 2 years ago, and was lucky enough to have Shannon take some time out of her hectic schedule to chat with me…

ALICE: When did you open the store?
SHANNON: We started in February 2009. We registered, started buying, and opened pop-ups. But we opened the store here in June 2010.

A: What made you want to open a shop?
S: I saw a gap in the market. There weren’t any stores around that covered the quirky items the labels were producing… I just thought it wasn’t rocket science! It’s been a whirl, the store has taken on it’s own mind.

A: What are your favourite things in store at the moment?
S: The Josh Goot velvet sleeveless hoodie that just walked in the door!! I’m also really feeling the All That Remains range this Summer.

A: What has been the most exciting label you’ve been able to hunt down and buy into the store?
S: Dean Quinn. We found him when we went to New York via random hashtags on instagram, but didn’t get to go to the show which was really sad. Then we hunted him down on twitter and messaged him. He had won a Golden Thimble at St Martins, which is the highest accolade; he’d worked directly under Donatella at Versace… He’s still not as known in Australia but his stuff is only in Browns and Harvey Nichols, and here!

A: Which 5 items are essential to you at the moment?
S: My Wildfox reflective sunnies, Josh Goot velvet vest, All That Remains crochet dress… I have Ellery check shorts coming that I’m sure I won’t be able to take off… And my Nathan Smith tanks.

A: Did you have a favourite fashion moment of 2012?
S: I don’t know… probably. I loved the clash colours, clash patterns that I guess were a big trend. And I’m really enjoying the swimwear – Karla Spetic and A.T.G. have been nuts.

A: What are you most looking forward to this year?
S: Getting the next steps together for the store. I have a little secret project that I’ll launch around the same time as fashion week which should be exciting! It will just be a really big year with the store, more styling, and some travel time with my boyfriend as well.

DÉSORDRE
323 South Dowling St
Sydney 2010
(02) 8065 2751

