HAVAIANAS 50 YEARS

by aliceliddellblog

pinks

greens

oranges

rainbow

Last week I was lucky enough to be invited to Havaianas 50th birthday!
It was quite a bash, let me tell you. The food made me so happy, and the coconut caipiroskas were to die for….

I can’t actually remember the first pair of Havaianas I ever bought – I honestly can’t remember a time when my feet were cradled by any other brand of thongs (or flip-flops for any non-Australians!). Seriously, what did we wear before our beloved Havies? And did we own more than one pair? I know that now the idea of having only one pair of Havaianas in my wardrobe is laughable. At this point in time I have seven pairs, and I wear all of them. Because lets face it, Australia is the perfect place for thongs: our climate, our lifestyle, and our general laziness* all direct us toward the barely-there footwear. I think this one is a love affair that will last a lifetime.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY HAVAIANAS!
Here’s to another 50 years x

*By “laziness” I refer not to our work ethic – we work pretty damn hard – but our refusal to say words in their entire form.

